top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureB

Local Love

Hello My Friends!


It is such a wonderful morning today as I reach for my green smoothie and write to you. As I sit here surrounded by trees and birds, I cannot help but to be grateful for our earth and all that's in it. For the blue skies, the trees, and the squirrels that play in them. There is nothing like it that man can try and recreate. Such raw and natural beauty, that just the sight of can mentally, physically, and spiritually heal the whole being. It’s no wonder that when you eat the vegetation from the ground, it sustains and vitalizes your body. Nowadays though, it is harder to stay interconnected with our earth's foods, and some reasons include the efficiency of fast food chains, microwavable meals, or mindless eating from the stress we endure throughout our day. It's also just as hard to eat healthy foods because of their prices. This is why more consumers are opting for cheaper conventional, GMO foods. Truly it's a shame that it's become more pricy and harder to eat the foods that come out of the ground. But, like I express to everyone I encounter, it does not have to!


I’ve always been a savvy shopper and like a map, I know exactly which stores to go to for affordable, organic products. It wasn’t until a couple of years ago though, after reading, 'Go Green Save Green', that I started to be mindful of where my produce came from. I began this shift towards local foods when I learned the environmental benefits that it has. When you support your local farmers, you’re not only getting fresh food, but also your supporting, and encouraging growth in agriculture. This gives farmers and the people the opportunity to thrive without having to work for "the man". Also, you reduce the distance your food travels and the amount of fuel and packaging it takes to feed your family.


If every day Americans ate just one meal a week from locally & organically raised produce, we would reduce our oil consumption by 2.5 billion gallons every year! Now that’s a lot! And we already see the effects that fracking has on our future generations and us. So, why not reduce the need for it? Going local not only saves energy and supports the local economy but it is usually chemical free, even if it is not certified organic. If you’re not familiar with the difference of conventional, and non-GMO, I touch on it a bit in my first blog, "Going Organic", check it out!



Every Saturday I grab my fabric bags and head to my local farmers market. This is where I get the majority of my greens and seasonal fruits. Being the chatty type, I asked my favorite farmer, of Just Peachy Farms, if they practiced organic methods, or conventional, in which he told me the story of his farm and how they preserve their land for their future families, by only using non-GMO crops and organic farming principles. Not only are you re-assured the quality of your food by this, but you know exactly where it comes from and the hands that pick it. Taking your relationship with your food to a whole different level, truly encompassing appreciation for our earth and what we put inside our bodies.


What about the price, you may ask. Well, in the stores, for instance Kroger and H-E-B, I pay $1.45 for cilantro versus $1 at the farmers market, $3 for potatoes versus $2, and $5.98 for spinach versus $3. Granted, prices will vary everywhere, but again it’s about supporting local instead of big corporations that have become disconnected to their customers.


If you are interested in buying local, here are a few sites you can go to find a market near you:

-Localaharvest.org

-Newfarm.org

-Ams.usda.gov/farmersmarket


If you live in the Houston area here are some of my favorite farmers markets to check out:

-Nassau Bay Farmers Markets

-Urban Harvest

-Galveston's Own Farmers Market


It's not always easy being green, but remember we have the power to choose!


With much love,

B




5 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page